Alan H. Kamb Grant for Research on Kansas Snakes2020-12-08T20:29:14+00:00

Alan H. Kamb Grant for Research on Kansas Snakes

The KHS annually awards a grant ($300.00) in honor and memory of Alan H. Kamb, longtime supporter and member of the Kansas Herpetological Society.
KHS members are eligible to apply for The Alan H. Kamb Grant for Research on Kansas Snakes. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting in November. If no qualified proposals are submitted, no award will be made for that year.
The KHS Awards Committee will entertain proposals for research on Kansas snakes. The proposal must be limited to ten typed pages, and should include, but not be limited to the following: title, name of researcher, contact information, abstract, introduction and justification, objectives or hypotheses, materials and methods, significance of research and possible results, literature cited, timetable, and proposed budget. The research must be conducted on one or more native Kansas snake species. Additionally, a majority of the field work or observations must be proposed to occur in Kansas, or the data must be proposed to be collected, at least in part, on Kansas specimens.
Proposals for this grant should be sent to the KHS Awards Committee Chair, and must be postmarked by 25 September. The grant recipient will be announced at the KHS annual meeting in November. New applications will be accepted after 1 January of the following year.

Former Recipients:
2001 Curtis Schmidt Hays, Kansas
2002 Chris Hutson Hillsboro, Kansas
2003 Dustin Wilgers Manhattan, Kansas
2003 J. Kent Daniel Pittsburg, Kansas
2004 Erik Bartholomew Hays, Kansas
2005 George R. Pisani Lawrence, Kansas
2006 George R. Pisani Lawrence, Kansas
2007 Page Klug Manhatttan, Kansas
2008 Page Klug Manhatttan, Kansas
2009 Mindy Walker Kansas City, Missouri
2010 Prashant Deshmukh Emporia, Kansas
2011 Dexter Mardis Wichita, Kansas
2012 Greg Sievert Emporia, Kansas
2013 Dexter Mardis Wichita, Kansas
2014 Chris Visser Lincoln, Nebraska
2015 David Penning Lafayette, Louisiana
2016 Greg Sievert Emporia, Kansas
2017 Ashley Burns Emporia, Kansas
2018 Jacob Basler St. Mary’s, Kansas
2019 Jainee Cowen Joplin, Missouri
2020 Krista Ward Wichita, Kansas