Howard K. Gloyd-Edward H. Taylor Scholarship2020-12-08T20:27:41+00:00

Howard K. Gloyd-Edward H. Taylor Scholarship

The KHS annually grants a scholarship named for Howard K. Gloyd and Edward H. Taylor, two distinguished Kansas herpetologists.
Nominations for the award ($300.00) are open to any KHS member enrolled in an accredited educational institution. The scholarship is awarded on the basis of potential for contributing to the science of herpetology. Students from high school through university are eligible. Self-nomination is encouraged.
If self-nominated, a letter of reference from an academician is required. Nominations should include typewritten details of the nominee’s qualifications, plus name and address of the nominee and nominator.
Nominations should include, but are not limited to, academic record, herpetological activities, and future plans in herpetology. Academic record should address schools attended and an indication of academic performance in each (e.g., grade point average, teacher evaluations, courses completed, etc.). Herpetological activities should include a brief narrative that details experiences and activities that demonstrate a long-term interest in herpetology, and documents accomplishments in herpetological study. Future plans in herpetology should include a statement, not to exceed one-page, written by the student about his/her future interests and plans.
Applicants may include an optional appendix with photographs, awards, newspaper articles, reports written by the student, or other documents relevant to herpetological activities.
Nominations should be sent to the KHS Awards Committee Chair, and must be postmarked by 25 September. The scholarship winner will be announced at the KHS annual meeting in November. New applications will be accepted after 1 January of the following year.

Former Recipients:
1993 Daren Riedle Emporia, Kansas
1994 Paul Shipman Stillwater, Oklahoma
1995 Kembra Howdeshell Emporia, Kansas
1996 Emily C. Moriarty Notre Dame, Indiana
1998 Lani Burress Emporia, Kansas
1999 John Tollefson Emporia, Kansas
2000 Kevin Aldrich Emporia, Kansas
2001 Megan Kearney Emporia, Kansas
2002 Nicole Palenske Emporia, Kansas
2003 Sean M. Daly Emporia, Kansas
2004 Daphne Jones Emporia, Kansas
2005 Lynett Bontrager Emporia, Kansas
2006 David Bender Hays, Kansas
2007 Melissa Boetig Topeka, Kansas
2008 Ashley Inslee Hays, Kansas
2009 J. Kent Daniel Pittsburg, Kansas
2010 Jodie Hearlson Emporia, Kansas
2011 Jennifer M. Singleton Emporia, Kansas
2012 Andrew Coleman Emporia, Kansas
2013 Anthony E. Bridger Kearney, Nebraska
2014 Dave Penning Lafayette, Louisiana
2015 Justine Becker Emporia, Kansas
2016 Josh Mead Hays, Kansas
2017 Allison R. Hullinger Hays, Kansas
2018 Jacob Alexander Hays, Kansas
2019 Neil Balchan Greeley, Colorado
2020 Jake Wright Wichita, Kansas