KHS Bronze Salamander2019-02-15T16:28:55+00:00

KHS Bronze Salamander Award

Established in 1987, this Award is presented to those individuals whose efforts and dedication to the Kansas Herpetological Society go far beyond the normal bounds. The recipients of this Award have given exemplary service to the KHS, and are presented with an elegant bronze sculpture of a Barred Tiger Salamander (our official state amphibian). The statue, created by artist Errol D. Hooper, Jr., is currently poured and finished by Heartland Art Bronze of Lawrence, and is mounted on an attractive wooden base, with the recipient’s name on a plate above the words For Distinguished Service. Candidates for the Award are chosen by the KHS Executive Council.

Former Recipients:
1987 John E. Simmons Lawrence, Kansas
1988 Larry L. Miller Caldwell, Kansas
1989 Joseph T. Collins Lawrence, Kansas
1990 Janice J. Perry Lawrence, Kansas
1993 Martin B. Capron Oxford, Kansas
1998 Hank Guarisco Lawrence, Kansas
1998 Kelly J. Irwin Topeka, Kansas
2000 Eric M. Rundquist Lawrence, Kansas
2002 Karen Toepfer Olathe, Kansas
2010 Travis W. Taggart Hays, Kansas
2011 Mary Kate Baldwin Topeka, Kansas
2011 Eric Kessler Kansas City, Missouri